Archives

, , , , , , , Posted by on

Peeping Tom Laws in California

Peeping Tom Laws in California

F or those unaware, a peeping tom is typically a man who spies on a woman while she’s changing. What was once a fairly common scene in movies has since died off as people admitted just how creepy the act of peeping is.

The act is so despised that there are laws against peeping and spying on people. Everyone has a right to privacy, especially when a person is in the safety of their own home, or other private areas. That is why the state of California has laws against the act. If a person thinks they want to spy on someone in a private setting, they should think again. This is not a law that a person should be breaking.

California Penal Code 647

Since spying and peeping on someone is such a big deal, because it is an invasion of privacy, many states and even the federal government have enacted laws against the act. In the state of California, spying and peeping is illegal under California Penal Code (PC) 647 i& j.

PC 647 i focuses on the act of peeping while loitering. Under this law, peeping while loitering is considered delaying or lingering on someone else’s private property without reason for being there while peeking into the door or window of an inhabited building. An inhabited building is any structure that a person lives in. If a person does this, then they are guilty of breaking this law.

PC 647 j focuses on invasion of privacy. This part of the law covers a few different acts, such as:

  • Using a telescope or other device to spy on someone.
  • Secretly photographing or recording a person’s body under their clothes for the purpose of sexual gratification.
  • Secretly recording someone in a private room in order to see them in their underwear.

Committing any of these acts is a crime under this law, and can get a person into serious legal trouble.

Penalties of Peeping in California

Breaking PC 647 is seen as form of disorderly conduct, which makes it a misdemeanor offense. This means that a person will face the following consequences for a first time offense:

  • Up to 6 months in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

These are the typical penalties for this crime, provided the victim is an adult. However, if the victim of the spying is a minor, anyone under the age of 18, then the consequences are more severe. For subsequent peeping offenses, or for peeping on a minor, the consequences are:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $2,000.

However, despite the nature of the crime, a conviction under PC 647 does not require a person to register as a sex offender.

No One Wants to Be Spied On

No one likes to be spied on especially when they are in their underwear or are naked. Everyone has a right to privacy, especially in their own home, in a restroom, or in a changing room. This is why peeping tom laws have been enacted to try to prevent people from committing the act at all.

Anyone caught breaking these laws will face jail time, and if they continue to break the law after that, the consequences will get worse for the person. Basically, it is never a good idea to spy or peep on someone. Doing so will get a person into trouble.

What do you think about California’s peeping tom laws and their consequences? Are the consequences enough, or should they be harsher? Should peepers be required to register as sex offenders?

, , , , , , Posted by on

Tagging and Graffiti Laws Here in California

Tagging and Graffiti Laws Here in California

Tagging and graffiti are two things that most people have seen, especially if they live in an urban area. Pretty much every large city in the country is littered with graffiti and other signs of tagging. A lot of times, these random markings can make signs unreadable, and change the look of the city for the worse. That is why most states have laws against graffiti.

California is one such state. California Penal Code (PC) 594 covers all sorts of vandalism, from breaking something to marking it up with paint or markers. While the crimes of graffiti and vandalism may seem minor to some, they are a very big deal to others. This is especially true for anyone stuck having to clean up the mess.

California Penal Code 594

PC 594 here in the state of California outlines every possible crime that could be considered vandalism and the punishments for them all. As far as the law is concerned, vandalism is considered to occur when someone maliciously defaces, damages, or destroys someone else’s property.

Vandalism can be any number of things, from

:

  • Smashing mailboxes.
  • Keying someone’s car.
  • Writing a name in wet cement.
  • Breaking someone’s fine china.

Basically, if someone messes with someone else’s stuff with the express intent of breaking or harming it, then they are guilty of vandalism. In fact, this can even be true if two people own something together, and one of them breaks the item. The other person could charge the first with vandalism in the state of California.

Penalties of Vandalism

As far as the punishments for vandalism go, they are dependent on the amount of damage done, the person’s criminal history, if they have one, and what exactly the person vandalized. For instance, vandalizing a place of worship comes with steeper consequences than simply vandalizing someone’s home.

If the amount of damage done totals less than $400, then the vandalism is a misdemeanor charge. This means that the person faces:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000 unless the person has any prior vandalism charges, in which case the max fine is $5,000.
  • Informal probation.

If the cost of the damage is greater than $400 dollars, the prosecution can charge the crime as either a misdemeanor or as a felony. With misdemeanor vandalism charges in this case, a person faces:

  • Up to one year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $10,000, unless the cost of the damages was higher than $10,000, in which case the max fine would be $50,000.
  • Informal probation

If the cost of damages was over $400 dollars and the crime is being charged as a felony, then the person faces:

  • A jail sentence ranging from 16 months to 3 years.
  • A max fine of $10,000, unless the cost of the damages was higher than $10,000, in which case the max fine would be $50,000.
  • Informal probation.

Consequences of Graffiti in California

Graffiti can be penalized differently in California if the damage done costs less than $250. California PC’s 640.5 and 640.6 only cover the act of graffiti. These offenses come with slightly less harsh consequences, and increase in severity with subsequent offenses.

The first time someone is charged with this crime, they face an infraction level offense:

  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Community service.

The second time someone is charged with this crime, they face a misdemeanor level offense:

  • Up to 6 months in jail.
  • A max fine of $2,000.
  • Community service.

For a third, or any subsequent offense after that, a person will face a misdemeanor level offense:

  • Up to 1 year in jail.
  • A max fine of $3,000.
  • Community service.

Don’t Damage Someone Else’s Property

Aside from the state having its own law against graffiti and vandalism as a whole, many cities have their own takes on ordinances regarding graffiti. Some cities have even prohibited minors, anyone under 18, from being in possession of graffiti tools such as cans of spray paint and permanent markers. As such parents may want to be careful with giving their children Sharpies. Some cities take that act very seriously, while others couldn’t care less.

Graffiti and vandalism are not fun to deal with, and they are not fun to look at either. That is why the state of California has laws against both vandalism and graffiti. Any person caught breaking those laws will face the consequences.

What do you think of California’s laws surrounding vandalism and graffiti? Are the consequences too steep, just right, or not harsh enough? Why is that?

, , , , , , , , Posted by on

People May Enjoy Fireworks, but Pets Don’t

People May Enjoy Fireworks, but Pets Don’t

People May Enjoy Fireworks, but Pets Don’t

The Fourth of July is rapidly approaching, and everyone is anxiously awaiting all of the celebrations. There will be food, parties, games, and fireworks. Celebrating the Fourth of July is a big deal, and a whole lot of fun. Everyone is looking forward to it, well, almost everyone anyways.

While people are all very excited about the Fourth of July and how it is celebrated, there is one group out there that doesn’t enjoy the fireworks. Pets all over the United States have varying feelings about fireworks. Some are indifferent towards them, and others are outright terrified. A pet owner needs to consider this before they go out celebrating for the holiday.

Pets Don’t Appreciate Fireworks

Unlike humans, pets aren’t really big fans of fireworks. The problem usually lies in the fact that they don’t understand what the fireworks and explosions are. They don’t see all of the fuss as fun. All they know is that there are a lot of flashing lights and loud explosions that can shake the house. These sounds are already loud for humans, and are much louder for animals who have better hearing, such as cats and dogs.

In order to make sure that a pet feels safe and secure this Fourth of July, a pet owner needs to be there for their animal. Here are a few tips for pet owners to help their pet stay safe this Fourth of July:

  • For starters, keep dogs and cats indoors for the night. This can greatly reduce the chances of the animals running away. This also means dogs should be walked in the late afternoon, early evening before any fireworks begin.
  • Pets should always have some form of identification on them, whether that is a collar or a microchip. This helps increase the chances of the animal being found again if it does run away.
  • Prepare a safe place or den for the animal in their favorite hiding spot. This way if they are scared, they can go someplace that makes them feel safe and comfortable.
  • Be calm and don’t yell at the animal. Yelling can stress out the animal even more.
  • Don’t force animals to cuddle if they don’t want to. Just allow the animal to do whatever it needs to in order to feel safe.
  • Close curtains and blinds to dampen light and noise coming in from fireworks. Also have a radio or TV playing, but not too loud, to help drown out the sounds.
  • Avoid leaving pets home alone on Fourth of July, this can cause more stress for them, and lead to them creating a mess in the house.
  • Never leave dogs tied up outside on the Fourth of July. That is a sure fire way to stress out the animal, which could lead to it hurting itself or running away.
  • Never take a dog to a firework show, even if they do not seem fazed by fireworks. This could still be a frightening experience for the pooch.

Keep Pets in Mind This Fourth of July

The Fourth of July is meant to be a fun holiday celebrating the nation’s independence. Unfortunately, while setting off fireworks is a fun for people, pets don’t appreciate the loud booms and colorful flashes. Fireworks can be absolutely terrifying for them. When a pet is scared, it is up to their owner to take care of them.

Every pet responds to fireworks a little differently, so each pet will need its own unique solutions to help it stay calm. Do you have a pet that is terrified of fireworks? If so, do you have any tips to help keep it calm that aren’t on this list? Share them in the comments below and help other pet owners keep their furry companies safe and happy this Fourth of July.

, , , , , , , , Posted by on

What Fireworks Are Legal in California?

What Fireworks Are Legal in California?

What Fireworks Are Legal in California?

June is quickly racing by, bringing us closer and closer to one of the biggest and most important holidays of the year for the nation. There is no denying that the Fourth of July is a huge deal to everyone living in America. After all, the holiday celebrates the country’s founding. The Fourth of July is the United States of America’s birthday, and every citizen wants to celebrate it.

Celebrations vary depending on the location, but they all tend to revolve around a few select practices. For instance, most people through barbeques, small towns love to host parades, and people love to set off fireworks once the skies get dark enough. While all of these things are a part of the usual celebrations for the holiday, one of them can be very dangerous.

Fireworks are a big part of the Fourth of July holiday, however, they can also be extremely dangerous. After all, they are explosive devices. If they are handled improperly, then a person can harm someone or damage property. If a person wants to avoid doing either of those things, they need to celebrate the nation’s birthday safely.

Safe and Sane Vs. Dangerous FireworksIllegal Fireworks within California

When a person looks at fireworks, they can easily see how the colorful explosions and flames can be dangerous. One wrong move and the flames or embers of one of the devices could land on someone, or in some dry vegetation. Unfortunately, despite the obvious dangers, a lot of people out there still manage to improperly use fireworks. This has led some states to take action.

For instance, here in California, fireworks use is heavily restricted. The state of California has divided all fireworks into two different types: safe and sane, and dangerous. Safe and sane fireworks are smaller, less dangerous explosives that everyday people can buy at licensed fireworks vendors. Dangerous fireworks are what are typically used in public displays, and require a special license to set off.

It is illegal for a person to set off dangerous fireworks without a license. It is also illegal to sell or give dangerous fireworks to anyone under the age of 18.

For safe and sane fireworks, it is illegal to sell or give them to anyone under the age of 16. It is also illegal to use fireworks in certain areas, especially those that are prone to dry vegetation and wildfires. A person should look up local laws to learn more.

If a person breaks any of these laws regarding fireworks, they will face penalties, including:

  • A misdemeanor.
  • Up to 1 year in jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.

If a person is found to be in possession of a vast quantity of dangerous fireworks and doesn’t have a license, then they could face felony charges. These charges could come with:

  • Up to 3 years in state prison.
  • A max fine of $50,000.

Why Do We Have Restrictions?

As every California resident has seen over the last few years, wildfires are incredibly destructive. When a wildfire sparks to life in dry vegetation, it can quickly grow out of control. In order to prevent as much devastation as possible, the state of California has enacted dozens of laws. This is arguably one of the bigger reasons for why fireworks are so restricted here in the state.

Aside from the obvious danger to the landscape, fireworks are also just dangerous to people. They can cause small injuries by burning someone, or larger, more traumatic injuries by exploding in a person’s hand. Hundreds of people are sent to the ER every single year on the Fourth of July due to fireworks. Don’t be one of those people, and be safe when using fireworks.

Have Fun and Be Safe

The Fourth of July is meant to be a fun celebration of the birth of the United States. Don’t ruin the celebration by starting a wildfire, burning a neighbor’s house down, or losing a finger. Fireworks, while fun and pretty, are still very dangerous. Even if they are labeled as safe and sane. Fireworks need to be treated with care and respect.

Pretty much everyone here in the US has celebrated the Fourth of July at least once. What are some of your favorite memories of the holiday? Was it the great barbeque food, hanging out with the family, or seeing some spectacular fireworks displays? Tell us all about your favorite Fourth of July memory in the comments down below.

, , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Can Minors Drink in California?

Can Minors Drink in California?

Can Minors Drink in California?

As holidays such as Christmas and New Year’s roll around, there are plenty of parties to attend. Families get together to catch up and reflect on the passing year. These parties are full of fun, and typically, full of drinking. As long as there is no driving after the drinking, this is no problem for adults. After all, they can drink whenever they like.

However, problems can arise when the kids, especially teens, see all of the adults drinking. The fact that teens want to grow up sooner rather than later is no secret. One of their favorite requests is to join their parents and other adult relatives in drinking.

Some parents are fine with this request. They see no problem with it since the teen is in a safe and controlled environment surrounded by trusted adults. However, this is a problem in the State of California. If a parent or guardian is not careful, they could wind up in trouble with the law.

The Law in California

Here in California, and the rest of the United States, the legal age for a person to begin consuming alcohol is 21. Anyone under the age of 21 who consumes alcohol is breaking the law. The state of California makes it a crime to give or sell alcohol to a minor with Business and Professions Code 25658.

Under Business and Professions Code 25658, selling or furnishing alcohol to a minor is a misdemeanor offense. The law can apply to anyone who gives alcohol to a minor, or any minor who gets access to alcohol through the use of a fake ID.

What many people do not realize, is that this law applies to anyone who gives alcohol to a minor. This includes parents or guardians of the minor in question. If a minor is found to have a blood alcohol concentration of (BAC) 0.05% or greater, then the parent could face misdemeanor charges.

The Penalties

In California, parents who are found guilty of providing their child, who is a minor, with alcohol face misdemeanor charges.

This means that they can face:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail.
  • A max fine of $1,000.
  • Some combination of fine and jail time.

These penalties are just slightly better than what a random person would face for breaking Business and Professions Code 25658. In addition to the above penalties, a person breaking this law would also be required to complete at least 24 hours of community service. If the person knowingly sold alcohol to a minor they, or the business, can lose their license to sell alcohol.

If someone under the age of 21 purchases or consumes alcohol on their own, they will face:

  • A $250 fine.
  • 24 to 32 hours of community service.
  • A 1 year suspension of their driver’s license, or a 1 year delay on being able to obtain their license.

Subsequent offenses lead to increased penalties for the minor in question.

Keep the Holidays Safe

While kids, especially teens, are always excited to grow up in a hurry, there are some things that should wait. Consuming alcohol is definitely one of those things. Not only is it not a great idea to allow a minor to consume alcohol, it can also get an adult into legal trouble. Even if the adult in question is the parent or guardian.

If a person wants to stay out of trouble this holiday season, then they need to drink responsibly. This means knowing their limits, having a designated driver (DD), and not allowing minors to consume alcohol.

So long as a person does that, they can close out the year with loved ones and not behind bars.

, , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Driving with Pets Can Be Distracting

Driving with Pets Can Be Distracting

Driving with Pets Can Be Distracting

Just about everyone knows that driving while distracted can be a very dangerous practice. One second of not paying attention is all it takes for a driver to find himself in a bad accident. That is why a driver needs to constantly give their full attention to the road while driving.

In order to encourage drivers to remain focused, lawmakers usually enact laws that limit what drivers can do while driving.

Some of the basics here in California include:

  • No texting while driving.
  • No talking on the phone while driving.
  • No using other electronic devices while driving.

California laws don’t cover all of the bases when it comes to distracted driving. For instance, eating while driving is not illegal in California, though it is considered to be a type of distracted driving. An Ohio town is taking distracted driving laws a step further in order to protect drivers and their furry companions.

Starting December 20th, drivers in Mantua, Ohio can be ticketed for distracted driving if they have an animal in their lap. The offense will only be a misdemeanor, which means a small fine and no possibility of jail time. However, any ticket price will be more than a driving pet owner really wants to pay.

Distracted driving is not something that any driver should do. Unfortunately, driving with a pet can be very distracting. For their safety, and the safety of the driver, the pet should remain in another section of the vehicle, away from the driver.

This way, they cannot interfere with the driver’s task and inadvertently cause an accident.

, , , , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Christmas Tree Prices on the Rise in California

Christmas Tree Prices on the Rise in California

Christmas Tree Prices on the Rise in California

Christmas trees are a big part of the holiday. No home could be considered decorated for Christmas without a tree. Everyone gets a tree, whether it is real or fake. For those who prefer to get a real Christmas tree every year, some may have noticed that the prices for them seem to have gone up here in California.

This has been a bit of a trend over the last few years as Christmas tree growers have gradually shifted away from growing trees for the holiday. Many of these growers have instead switched to grow what they consider to be more lucrative crops such as hazelnuts or even marijuana after its legalization.

This has led to an unfortunate shortage of the holiday icon. This in turn, has led to an increase in the price of trees as supplies become scarcer. Some locations and businesses that have sold trees for years have not been able to continue the tradition due to the inability to get enough stock from remaining retailers.

While there is no replacing the smell of a real Christmas tree, with the ever growing shortage of Christmas trees here in California, some people may want to consider switching to artificial trees.

What do you think of this shortage? Should people switch to artificial trees, or pay the extra money for a real one? Let us know down in the comments below.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Provides Flexible Payment Options

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Provides Flexible Payment Options

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Provides Flexible Payment Options

Your life is a constantly changing and evolving thing. What works for you at one point in your life, may not work for you a few months down the line. Due to this fact, all long term plans need to be flexible enough to accommodate change. Here at Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, we understand that, which is why we provide our clients with flexible, affordable payment plans.

Bailing someone out of jail without bail help is an expensive undertaking. However, with help from Bail Bonds in Los Angeles you will only ever have to pay 10% of the full bail price. That means you save 90% just by coming to us for help. However, that is not all that we do to help out our clients.

We also provide everyone with personalized payment plans that fit into their budgets. This way, the 10% of the bail is broken up into even smaller pieces that are much more manageable. To make sure that our clients are always able to pay for the bail bond, we accept a variety of different payment methods to give them some flexibility.

Here at Bail Bonds in Los Angeles, we accept:

  • Cash
  • Checks
  • Major debit & credit cards
  • Western Union money transfers
  • E-Checks
  • Wells Fargo business account deposits

Our clients can also choose to make some of these payments over the phone, online, or through our website. We provide all of this flexibility to make paying for the bail bond as easy and affordable as possible. A client can use one payment type for a few months, and then switch to something else if they need to. The choice is theirs.

If you are ready to bail a friend or family member out of jail, just call 866-998-2245 or click Chat With Us now.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Makes Bailing Someone out of Jail an Affordable Experience

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Makes Bailing Someone out of Jail an Affordable Experience

Bail Bonds in Los Angeles Makes Bailing Someone out of Jail an Affordable Experience

Often times, paying for something is more difficult than actually finding the thing in the first place. This is definitely the case when it comes to bailing someone out of jail. Finding a bail agent to help you can be easy, after all, you just need to contact Bail Bonds in Los Angeles. However, paying for the bail bond can seem like a daunting task at first glance.

What people do not realize though, is that by coming to Bail Bonds in Los Angeles for help, they will be able to afford the bail. This is due to the fact that we make our bail bonds as affordable as possible. For starters, our bail bonds only cost 10% of the price of the bail itself.

After that, we can offer qualified clients an extra 20% off the price of the bail bond. To qualify for this discount, one of the co-signers of the bail bond needs to meet certain requirements.

Here are the following requirements:

  • Be a member of the military.
  • Be a member of AARP.
  • Be a union member.
  • Be a homeowner.
  • Have a private attorney.

So long as one of those requirements is met, the client can qualify to get there bail bond at only 8% of the full bail price instead of the usual 10%.

In addition to this discount, we also offer all of our clients customized payment plans. This way the cost of the bail bond is broken up into manageable chunks. Each monthly payment will be designed to work with the client’s particular budget.

Bailing someone out of jail may seem like an impossibly expensive undertaking, but that is not the case with Bail Bonds in Los Angeles. We make bailing someone out of jail an affordable experience.

Are you ready to bail someone out of jail? If so, just call 866-998-2245 or click Chat With Us now.

, , , , , , , , , , , , , Posted by on

Bailing Someone Out Can Be Affordable with Bail Bonds in Los Angeles

Bailing Someone Out Can Be Affordable with Bail Bonds in Los Angeles

Bailing Someone Out Can Be Affordable with Bail Bonds in Los Angeles

There are things in life that people simply don’t like to do. Unfortunately, some of those things are unavoidable. They can be small like doing chores around the house, or they can be much larger, such as needing to make a large emergency payment. An example of an emergency expense would be posting someone’s bail.

Here in California, bail is extremely expensive. At its cheapest amounts, it still costs several thousands of dollars. This puts its affordability well out of range of the average individual. No one has a few thousands of dollars lying around that they can spare. For many, once they see the bail amount, they assume there is nothing they can do to help their loved one. However, they are wrong.

They can get an affordable bail bond from Bail Bonds in Los Angeles. Our bonds only cost 10% of the bail that they are for. If you need to bail someone out of jail who has a $20,000 bail amount, you will be able to get them out with a $2,000 bail bond. You will be able to save 90% off your loved one’s bail by coming to us for help.

On top of giving our clients a huge discount, we also give them the ability to pay for the bail bond with a payment plan. This payment plan will be designed to work with their budget. It will break up the upfront cost of the bail bond and make it even more manageable by spreading it out over several months. We will make paying for the bail bond easy.

You may not like the idea of parting ways with your hard earned money, but by posting your loved one’s bail, you rescue him from jail. Luckily, Bail Bonds in Los Angeles is here to make this an affordable endeavor. All you have to do is talk to one of our bail agents and they will be more than happy to help you.

You can talk to an agent for free at any time by calling 866-998-2245 or by clicking Chat With Us now.